TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

It is critically important that governments should improve the quality of people's life. Needless to say, Internet is a vital part of today's human life-style. In my opinion, governments can make life easier for their people by spending money to improve the Internet access for them. I feel in that way because of two reasons that I will express in the following reading passage.

To begin with, using Internet may help to reduce the demand for transportation in the cities. In other words, by using Internet people can handle most of their works like transferring money without going to a bank. For example, last month I needed to transfer an amount of money for someone who is an authority of a conference. I just turned on my laptop and used my online account in the bank and forwarded the money for him without leaving my home. Therefore, by using Internet I did not need to use transportation facilities and stayed at home.

The second reason that pops up in my mind is that improving internet access could help to increase the quality of life on numerous dimensions. By using Internet people can find their way in foreign countries or find the best resources for their education from the libraries in other places. Let's imagine a graduate student who is working on his thesis. He needs to read another thesis on his topic but nobody works on this specific topic in his university. Accordingly, he can find and use other graduated students' published thesis by using Internet and searching on other universities' websites.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned reasons, it is better for governments to increase the access to Internet for the population. It can be safely concluded that Improving access range and quality of Internet is more useful for people because it reduces the use of transportation and helps people in many other aspects of their lives.