TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

With the continuous development of society, arts and athletics have become vital to daily life. There are questions as to whether the government should spend more on arts than on sports. I think athletics deserves more government funding than the arts.

To begin with, distributing more funds to sports such as state-sponsored Olympic teams or games benefits the economic development and international reputation of a country. More nations now wish to hold the Olympic Games. To do so, their governments must invest in building stadiums, transportations, among others, to promote their capacity to hold such an event. Besides, with such infrastructures built, tourists would be enticed to come and watch sports competitions or even just take a trip in Olympic cities. The host country earns from sales of tickets and other novelty items and other travel spendings. Thus, the economy would improve. Besides, an unparalleled and well-prepared sports event would leave a good impression to everyone around the world watching the event, thus increasing the popularity and influence of the host nation. Therefore, spending more money in support of athletics is beneficial to the economy and a nation’s international influence.

What is more, allocating more funds to sports would increase public health. If a government spends significantly to build new stadiums and facilities that are convenient for the public to use, more people, young and old alike, would be encouraged to exercise, thus allowing them to stay fit. Besides, since a healthy body leads to a healthy mind, then the disposition of the people would also be more positive, allowing them to accomplish more and contribute more to social progress. Hence, governments should spend more on sports for their constituents’ better health.

In sum, governments must spend more money on athletics because it could drive economic growth while enhancing public health.