TPO 55 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e mail they will produce better work for the project Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In this progressive and sophisticated world, the way people can communicate for different purposes has changed dramatically. Nowadays, people can communicate through the Internet besides the traditional way of communication, face-to-face interaction. A controversial question that is often raised in this regard is that whether face-to-face communication is better for producing a successful project or connecting through e-mail is more effective. While some people are inclined towards the idea that it is better for classmates and colleagues to communicate in person when working on projects, others, on the other hand, are against this idea. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that the advantages of face-to-face meetings for producing successful results are immense and indisputable. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first obvious and compelling reason that shows the communicating through e-mail is not an effective substitute for communicating in person is that in this way, group members can learn from others' achievements. In fact, participating in a real meeting gives everyone a perfect opportunity to share their viewpoints, and evaluate their assigned goals from different perspectives. Therefore, each member has the chance to figure out the weaknesses and strengths of their own tasks. For instance, I remember, once I was asked to prepare a proper design for Iranian houses, for weeks I was wandering around helplessly, after attending group meetings regularly, my co-workers' viewpoint's help me to come up with a new idea and accomplish my task.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that this approach will reduce the risk of making big mistakes, misunderstanding, and misinterpreting information and goals. To make it more apparent, as human beings we cannot always rely on our own knowledge and wisdom to make a logical decision, asking other people can help us find our flaws and prevent disastrous consequences. For example, one of my colleagues who work through telecommuting was fired because of a huge mistake of calculating the wrong data. If he had communicated in meetings in person, he would not been made redundant because other members of the group would realize his mistakes.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, it is crystal clear that the merits of communicating face to face when working on projects are myriad. First, people can learn from their colleagues and classmates by discussing their viewpoints analyzing the task from different perspectives. Besides, this way will decline the chance of making mistakes.