TPO 8 – Task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children ( aged two to five) should not be allowed

The issue of whether television advertising toward young children should be banned aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that the advertising that aimed toward the children at the age of two to five should not be permitted while others have a negative attitude. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the advertisement for very young children has a lot of disadvantages and should not be allowed. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on arguments to support my view.

The first reason to be mentioned is that children at that age are not enough matured to realize what is harmful, what is a benefit for them. As very young children have not enough wisdom and experience to help them evaluate the product that advertises on TV, they choose just according to the appealing appearance without considering the advantages or disadvantages of that product. The company that advertises for young children use this point to deceive them to buy their product. For example, a company that makes electric toys, knows very well just by adding some musical sounds and colorful designs can capture their mind and easily persuade them to buy their toys while these toys might be harmful to the children’s health.

In approaching that issue, apart from the points stated above, the second reason that deserves some points is that these kinds of advertisements influence the family’s financial condition. As you know, the product that is specified for children are usually expensive, as the family always wants to provide their children the best things, they have to spend a lot of money on them while they might not enough money for those expensive goods. Therefore, they have to get a part-time job as well as their main job to afford that .to illustrate that idea let’s consider the following example. In my country, one of the biggest problem that family confronts is the high expectation of children to buy everything advertises on TV. parents work day and night to buy their children’s wants and need.

By the way of conclusion, base on the arguments that explored above I am of the opinion that advertisement toward the young children should be banned due to the children’s lack sufficient maturity that caused they could not realize the bad and good product from each other. Furthermore, it has negative effects on the financial condition of the family.