TPO22 – Independent: A/D? Teachers should not make their political or social views known to students in classroom.
Students’ education has attracted much social concern. Several people argue that it is crucial for
teachers not to share their political and social viewpoints with students in the classroom.
Personally, I strongly agree with this argument.
On one hand, what has been put under consideration is study effectiveness. It is widely known
that by talking about political and social issues in the classroom, teachers are able to help
students to be away from difficult subjects in the school like math or science. As a result,
students stand a good chance of being relaxed. Therefore, it is possible for them to refresh their
mind and reduce stress and strain. Hence, they are likely to have more ideas and interests about
main subjects at schools. Thus, they are certain to study effectively. More notably, it cannot be
denied that teachers have a wonderful chance of socializing with their students when they talk
about non-academic issues. For this reason, they are able to narrow the gap between instructors
and learners. This is the opportunity for students to expose their hidden thought and problem
with their teachers. Subsequently, there is likelihood that teachers help students get over their
problem. Hence, it is possible for learners to improve their academic performance. Without
doubts, talking about non-academic issues is certainly undeniable when it comes to study
effectiveness.
On the other hand, some might say that talking about irrelevant topics in the lecture is extremely
time-consuming. As a consequence, it is impossible for students to study efficient. However, it is
just the surface of the problem. In fact, teachers known that they should talk about these topics
before or after the lecture. For this reason, teachers are able to ensure that students still
concentrate on the lecture. Besides, even if citing political and social issues in the classroom is
time-consuming, this time also is considered as the chance for students to know the new
perspective. Thus, there is likelihood that students perceive issues in life through different lens.
Accordingly, they are sure to reflect on themselves and find out what is right and what is wrong.
Therefore, it is possible for them to consolidate their background and improve their
understanding. Hence, they are likely to study more easily. For this reason, they are certain to
study more effectively. By and large, saying that citing political and social issues causes students
to decrease their academic performance is highly unrealistic.
In a word, study effectiveness is convincing reason for my agreement. It is highly recommended
that people should take my writing into detailed consideration to guideline an appropriate
decision on students’ education.