TPO26 – Independent: A/D? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parent's jobs than to choose jobs that very different from their parent's job.

It is an undeniable fact that one's career can pave the way for further success. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether young children should follow their parents' steps and choose their jobs. However, there might be some counterexamples about this claim I would argue that all youths must choose a career in which they are interested. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The first prominent issue to be mentioned is that personal interests have a profound impact on the success of a person in his future life. In fact, the more avid you are to fulfill your dream job, the more success you will achieve. In this regard, parents must encourage their teenagers to discover their real interests, and try to flourish them. Consider the following example which can shed some light on this topic. My grandfather, my father, and even my uncles, all of them, are army men and we can say it is somehow our family job. Despite my grandfather's insistence, my father let my brother find his own way and motivated him to continue his studying in the engineering field. Draw on my brother's experience as a successful engineer I believe that we should prepare a favorable condition for children to decide for their future based on their interests.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that many jobs have been disappeared by the advent of technologies. Therefore, it is not rational to choose a job similar to our parents regardless of the job market in modern societies. In other words, many careers are changing into more modern forms. For instance, a farmer's child is not obliged to become a farmer in the future as, today, in progressive countries many farmers are replaced by energy-saving robots. As a result, it is a parental responsibility to inform their adolescents about job prospects in their current society.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas which were presented above I strongly believe that juveniles should put a premium on their own interests and available jobs in their societies rather than their parents' careers before making any decision on their future job. Consequently, they would be able to shine in today’s world.