TPO34-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Children today, are more than ever involved in the advancements of technology. But could these technologies be hindering their education? There are compelling arguments on both side. I personally subscribe to the view that the overall impact of technology on children has been positive.

First of all, with the advent of social media such as Facebook and Twitter, children can take advantage of socializing with their peers all around the world. This way, they can exchange ideas on various topics, thereby developing the ability of critical thinking - which is a primary goal of any kind of education. This would benefit students as they grow up. A recent survey has disclosed that employees tend to set strict criteria for hiring employers. They expect job applicants to have not only specialization in their majors, but also the ability of critical thinking - which would not result from the old methods of communication.

Moreover, education officials have devised softwares to amend the quality of education. I recently saw in a documentary that education is on the verge of a revolution; new softwares consider personality traits, skills, and the pace of learning of each individual student, and set a schedual for him accordingly. This will enhance the efficiency of education. Besides, it provides the students with the opportunity of having their assignments checked online by their teachers, anytime during the day.

However, there is another side to the debate. Children can easily be distracted from concentrating on their school work or even become isolated from their families and finally get anti-social. Nonetheless, none of these potential harms have been directly proven through scientific evidence. Future research may cast light on these aspects.

Having considered all these arguments, I believe that the the negative impact of technology on children's education has been exaggerated. If used in the right way, technology can benefit students in numerous ways.