TPO40 independent

Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Never before has the problem of education been such salient as today. Since people attach great importance to education, some parents are creating new methods, e.g. giving their children money for high mark in tests, encourage them to study hard. Some people argue that it would change children’s opinion on study, making them believe that earning money is the only purpose of study. However, I think that offering children money as a reward is a favorable choice, a choice that its merits outweigh its drawbacks.

To begin with, money can be a motivation to children. Nowadays, all people need some stimulus to do their tasks passionately, among which money is one of the most direct and effective factors. When children get positive feedback of their hard work, study will be a pleasure rather than a laborious job upon which they need to devote a lot of time and effort. We cannot deny that sometimes study can be boring – doing assignments, reading passages, solving math problems, etc. If children could receive some money and use it to buy things they want as a reward, they are likely to pursue a better academic performance. For example, when I passed the entry exam to high school, my mother gave me money to buy Play Station 4, the game console I had been longing for months. It not only helps me to relax and get away from daily grind but also motivates me to study wholeheartedly in high school. So, money is a good way to keep children focused and concentrated on study.

Moreover, financial management is an important skill for career success and children can obtain it through managing their own money. By awarding money for high grades, parents can give offer their children an opportunity to learn how to spend money wisely. Though at first, they might waste it, buying expensive but useless things such as car models and dolls, gradually would they realize that it should be used in a more prudent way. Therefore, it can benefit children not only currently but also lay a solid foundation for their future career. For instance, I used to buy some merchandise and albums of my favorite singers with the money my parents gave me. Yet actually I could barely afford them, and I almost had no remaining in the end of a year. So, I started to save most of the money in bank, which has become a considerably number now.

In the final analysis, although giving money to children for grade might lead them misunderstand the meaning and goal of study, it can be solved by parents’ instruction of a healthy money attitude. Thus, I believe that it is good for parents to award children with money when they get high mark in school, because it encourages them to work hard in the short term as well as equips them with money managing skill in the long term.