tpo43

In the reading passage, the author proposes several possible theories of how agnostids have lived, which are case serious doubt on by the listening passage arguing that all of three statements have serious weakness.

Fristly, as the author claims, agnostids could be free-swimming predators since other kinds of primitive arthropods were swimmers. On the contrast, the speaker points out that agnotids can never be an active predtors since all active predators have big eyes and their vision is significant for them to chase after preyers. The agnostids have tiny and poorly developed eye, even some are blind, which means it is difficult for chasing small organisms. Besides, there are also no better sensing organ record of them. Accordingly, it is impossible for agonotids to be a free-swim predators, which proves that the first viewpoint of writer is incorrect.

Secondly, the writer believes that agnostids may have been seafloor dwellers because some other primitive arthropods lived in this way. On the contrary, the lecturer argues that for dwellers they can't move fast along seafloor while agnotids seem move rapidly. Most dwellers they move slowly and stay in some small places where they were born. However paleontologists found there are multiple areas the fossils of agonotids were discovered and which means that they have the ability to spread their species in distance. Thus, the agnotids move fast and this is unusual for dwellers which clashes with the second view of the author.

Finally, the reading passage insists that it is probably that agnotids were parasites and lived on primitive fish or other arthropods. However, the professor contends with the author again by arguing that agnotids cannot be parasites because of their population. For parasites, their population has limitation since over population will kill their host animals. But vast fossil of agnotids were discovered which verifies that it is unreasonable that the agnotids have been parasites.