TPO46-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From the ancient times, people, especially the young youth needed heroes to find out what they want from their lives and what is the best possible way to be successful. In this way, a vast number of people believe that famous people have an important impact on the young generation rather than old people. Others, however, think that older people are influenced by celebrities just as younger people do. Actually, I am of the opinion that thoughts of famous people have an unavoidable impact on the young youth for a specific number of reasons.

As for the first reason, mankind has always tried to find the best way to be successful. Young people, especially teenagers need to imitate successful people's behavior in order to find a way to achieve their goals. Hence, whenever they see that a famous person ,such as an athlete or an actor, who has whatever they dream about, they will start to act like them, and do whatever is essential to be in their shoes. As a vivid example, my sister is a teenager and she always dreams about being popular among people and being rich. Therefore, she looks at celebrities as heroes and reads their biography and follows their news to get some points that can help her to accomplish her goals.

Secondly, technology has improved a lot and internet has become an integral part of every individual person's life. Actually, I believe that younger people are more adapted to use technological devices and they easily learn how to use internet, mobile phones, computers and other pieces of technology. On the other hand, whenever old people want to use these devices, they will get into some problems because they are used to work with some simple things. Consequently, they may not have the access to different information about celebrities and it makes it hard for them to follow famous people. For instance, my grandmother can never turn on a computer without help, so that she prefers to do the things that are easier and she will get tired of asking others to help her just to follow her heroes.

Finally, I believe that younger people come out of their safety zone easier. They want to experience lots of things and try whatever can help them to be a famous people. In addition, they dream about being famous, because they know that they have enough time to do different types of things. Nevertheless, old people think that they do not have enough time to take risks, because if they fail in something, they may lose everything that they have collected over years and it makes it hard for them to take risks and come out of their safe zones. Therefore, whenever they are impressed by a famous person's idea, they just wish if they had more time try it, but younger people will definitely try it because they know that they have time and they have nothing to lose.

To sum it up, from my vantage point celebrities influence younger generation more than older ones because they want to be famous, they have the ability to use technological devices and they are risk takers.