TPO53

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is important to improve the accessibility of the Internet and public transportation for peoples' quality of life. I grant that there are many opinions about that: however, I think that government should spend more money to improve public transportation than Internet access. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, private companies improved Internet access, so this does not need support from the government. These days many people use the Internet through laptops or smartphones in daily life. There is no denying that Internet-related companies such as Google, Amazon, Facebook, and so on are highly valued in the stock markets. This means that improving Internet access has a big business chance. These days, many Internet providers compete for their Internet access qualities, and this situation brings benefits to people without the government's support. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a freshman at university, I tried to use an Internet provider. I did not feel dissatisfaction with the services; however, the salesperson from other providers recommended changing the providers because they could provide more sophisticated services. I decided to change the services and, consequently, I could afford a more convenient Internet environment.

Next, businesses that run public transportation sometimes go bankrupt without support from the government. Not only Internet access but also public transportation is an imperative part of our lives. For public transportation, however, private companies cannot earn a lot of money compared to Internet-related companies even though they play an important role in our daily lives. When some natural disasters happen, these companies sometimes do not enough money to maintain their systems. For example, there was a big earthquake in our country. This caused huge damages to public transportations such as railroad or subway and so on. The government decided to support these companies because the damages were so big that they could not repair their systems by themselves. If the government had not supported them, we would not afford them even now.

In conclusion, I strongly think that the government should spend more money to improve Internet access. This is because improving the Internet does not need government support, and it needs more money to support public transportation companies.