In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use then they are today.

Invention of car was one of the major events in the twentieth century; it has made the movement of people much easier. Although the use of car is omnipresent today, the scenario would change within twenty years as the use of them will be reduced.

To begin with, the use of internet is eliminating the need of movement of people as they do their jobs and study online, and hence with time there will be no need of people to go office for jobs and attend classrooms for receiving education. Consequently, the use of cars will become limited. For example, the spread of Corona virus has forced people to stay at home: they are doing their official works by using internet and students are following their teachers on online platforms. If this is possible to perform the responsibilities while at home now, then why would people take the burden to move from one place to another, which requires them to spend money and energy? As people will not need to move from their houses, there will no use of cars at all, and they would become rare in those streets where they now are abundant. The improvement of science and technology will enable people to maintain the society while staying at home and will reduce the use of cars in the streets thereby.

Moreover, in response to the environmental pollution problem, governments are now planning to shrink the use of fuel, and this plans includes supplanting personal cars by public transports, which is much more environment friendly. Use of fossil fuel has increased with the development of transportation; those burnt fuels destroy the environment as they do harm to the ozone layer. To reduce the destruction of the environment, scientists are constantly searching for energy efficient alternatives, but those solutions are not coming so easily. As a result, governments are trying to follow some other strategies which include the increased use of public transport in place of individual cars. They are constructing metro rails, introducing new buses which are alternatives to hundreds of private cars in roads. With an increase in those public transports, the private cars would become scarce in the roads in the near future.

In conclusion, the use of private car is going to be reduced, although would not become extinct, in the near future. The improvement in internet technology and attempt of the governments of the countries to solve the environmental problem caused by using personal cars are going to hasten the removal of cars from road.