In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Our planet is overcrowded by cars at present, and the amount of cars increases each day. I think that this tendency will be continued, and in twenty years we will have much more cars on the Earth, than we have today. There are several reasons for that, which will be discussed in the following essay.

First of all, further increase of the population on the Earth will lead to producing more automobiles. Nobody can deny that population grows on our planet. A good example of this is China, where, according to the relevant surveys, we will have 20 percent growth of populaion in less than twenty years. That in turn will result in producing more cars than we have today, because cars are vital for our normal lifebeing.

Secondly, there will not be any visible substitute for a car in the near future. All debates relating to the possible replacement of cars by other means of transportation are not serious enough. For example, the study conducted by Boston university proves that will not be able to alter cars by other means of transportation due to some technological and other objective constrains. Consequently, cars will remain as the most convenient and safe transportation in the near future.

Thirdly, more people will be living in big cities in the future. That means that more cars will be needed for use. This is due to the fact that living in big cities, as contrasted to living in small towns or villages, makes cars merely indispensable because of huge distances that city habitants have to cover each day in order to commute to and from their working places, etc. Therefore, unless this trend changes, the demand for cars will increase in big cities each year.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that cars are vital for our normal being and we will have more cars in the near future because of the increase of population and lack of substitutes for cars, as well as because of the trend of increasing of the population of big cities.