A university has money in its budget to do one thing to improve its facilities for students. It can either improve the quality of the technology (for example computers and printers) that it provides for students or it can redesign spaces where students hold club meetings and gather with friends in their spare time to make these areas more comfortable and appealing.

Nowadays, a lot of students in order to achieve a high level of education continue their studies at universities, and universities try to help them to achieve their goals by providing an effective atmosphere. Although some people believe that universities should spend money on making an attractive and beautiful space, personally, I am on the side of people that believe universities should spend their budget to renovate their facilities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, having the most up to date computers will improve students’ knowledge. To be more specific, it is crystal clear that universities should have the last version of computers. This is because most of the important research, which have a lot of benefits for humans’ life, has happened in universities. Moreover, according to the rate of improvement in technology, every day a new model of the computer has been invented by scientists, the previous models cannot work very well compared to the last version. Therefore, it is too important that universities spend money to make themselves up to date and pave the way for their students to do their research in the best way. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. I am a medical school student, and I am working on a project under the supervision of my advisor. The project that I am working on it really needs to use the perfect microscope and supercomputers. Until, last year, I was not able to do anything and improve my research. It was because my university did not have the equipment that I need to do my research, and after one year, they could afford the requested money and buy the equipment that I need, and as a result, I did my research. Therefore, it is obvious that if they spent their money in some unnecessary ways, they could not help me to do my project and improve my knowledge to help humans having better lives.

Moreover, having update computers and printers will save students time. To put it in other words, old versions of computers and printers usually have a lot of problems and errors, and working with them for students is really time-consuming. This because, a lot of students use them in a university, and they are not in good condition. So, whenever, students need to work with them, they have a lot of unpredictable problems. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, we had a printer in our office, and all the students in the office used it to print whatever they want. Due to the fact that this old printer used too much more than its capacity, it usually did not work well. We usually should ask the staff of our university to help us to have some printed paper. Although they usually change its cartridge and serviced it, it did not work well, and it was the main cause of all the students to miss their class and waste their time.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples. I believe that universities should spend their budget to make their equipment update and new. This is because, in this way, they help students to improve their knowledge, and help students to save their time.