A university has money in its budget to do one thing to improve its facilities for students. It can either improve the quality of the technology (for example computers and printers) that it provides for students. Or it can redesign spaces where students hold club meetings and gather with friends in their spare time to make these areas more comfortable and appealing. Which idea do you prefer and why?

All universities act like a factory that young inexperienced students are changed to proficient skilled people. Therefore, it is absolutely weighty to pay attention to how the university budget is distributed. Some people believe that it is better to spend more money for improving the technology; however, others think that more budget should be allocated to renew the spaces such as club meetings. In my own perspective, I do believe that the second idea is more rational for two main reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a new interesting design of spaces will lead to boost not only the students’ morale but also their performance. In fact, people, especially students, need some external incentive to push them forward in their life. My own experience is a compelling support for this concept. During my university period, when I was studying computer engineering at Shanghai University, we did not a place to rest, meet, and talk to our friends in our free times between different classes. Therefore, we always stayed in classes or went to a cafe that cost pretty much for us. Once the university has changed some spaces, a new interesting site was opened in the middle of our faculty. This was a place where all the students of the faculty even other departments came to have some fun with others. It gradually became the heart of our faculty. Whenever a person was upset he/she just tried hard to reach there and be in that friendly atmosphere. After just one year of its establishment, all the students’ scores increased noticeably that no one could dismiss the effect of that new space. Students’ attention was attracted to that meeting club in where most of the students cooperate with each other in solving problems and doing projects. I have made perfect memories of that place and it was beneficial for me both in my interest and knowledge.

Second, although extending academic knowledge is the main purpose, we cannot discard the importance of other factors such as social ability. Indeed, most students, like me, have another attitude for attending in university. Social relationships play a decisive role in the formation of individuals’ character which is strongly contributive in the future life of each student. For instance, when my brother was at the age of 17 he had a shy character, he did not learn the right manner in which to initiate a simple conversation with his classmates. Conversely, he completely changed after graduating from the business department of the China University. What happened to him is a good example of the effect of university meeting places. They had an especial place to discuss their courses which were located outside of their academic building. In fact, they lived four years at that place, talking with each other, presenting different lectures, watching football games, and etc. Consequently, their social abilities were strongly strengthened via this place which helps them in finding perfect positions in high-level companies. I think that the purpose of the university should be deeper than just providing a place with high technology devices such as computers.

In sum, it is obvious from my explanation that redesigning some spaces for students to have a meeting club is desirable to get more money from the university budget. This is just because of the students' attraction, the effectiveness of their courses, and also gaining social abilities. That's why we should pay more attention to the atmosphere of a university.