Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The above statement poses a hot topic on the contradiction of people's personal enjoyments and responsibilities. And the speaker tends to think people now are dedicating more on personal likeness than on what they should do. I strongly disagree with this opinion because I think that to pursue one's individual enjoyment does not contradict to assume the responsibility.

Admittedly, people nowadays increasingly enjoy the freedom to pursue personal enjoyment than before. As the development of democracy, the ideas and behaviors of an individual are respected and encouraged to some extent. For instance, students can choose any major which they favor mostly; graduates can participate in whatever professions they are interested in; citizens possess absolute freedom on free press and behaviors they like. Briefly, people have much time and freedom to do their favorite things. However, spending much time on personal enjoyment does not indicate that people ignore their accountability which should be taken. Let's take a college student in art for example. Generally, students in art major should spend much time on reading and appreciating art history, biography of artists and art works. Yet, the student favors more on economics. He probably continues to earn his degree on art with great interest in economic as well. Or he may pursue a second degree on economics. No matter what his decision is, he takes his responsibility to become a worthy student of his major.

In addition, to pursue one's personal enjoyment help to assume the responsibility. People should not be blamed for their time spent on things they like. Obviously, people lived in an time teemed with tense competition and they are often under a huge pressure. After a whole day job or a period of work, you probably make yourself drunk, or go for shopping crazily, or bury yourself in a series of insane music, or whatsoever you prefer. Of course you are most likely to become relaxed and inspired through these favorite experience. Eventually, the great physical and mental recreation is conducive to a better performance in your profession the next day.

To sum up, it is unreasonable to separate apart what people like to do and what they should do. The pursuit on personal enjoyment and assumption on accountability are interwoven. They do not contradict to each other. The effort and time on personal enjoyment does not equal to the ignorance on people's responsibility because of the objective requirement from each identity. Moreover, personal hobbies are good catalyst for improvement on the original professions.