A university has money in its budget to do one thing to improve its facilities for students. It can either improve the quality of the technology (for example computers and printers) that it provides for students. Or it can redesign spaces where students hold club meetings and gather with friends in their spare time to make these areas more comfortable and appealing. Which idea do you prefer and why?

All the universities act like a factory that young inexperienced students are changed to adept skilled people. Therefore, it is absolutely important to pay attention to how the university budget is distributed. Some people believe that it is better to spend more money for improving the technology; however, others think that more budget should be allocated to renew the spaces such as club meetings. In my own perspective, I do believe that the second idea is more rational for two main reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a new interesting design of spaces will lead to increasing not only the attraction of the students but also the successfulness in their courses. In fact, people, especially students, need some external incentive to push them forward in their life. My own experience is a compelling to support this concept. During my university period-5 years ago- when I was studying computer engineering at Shanghai University, we did not a place to rest, meet, and talk to our friends between our classes. Therefore, we always stayed in classes or went to a cafe that cost pretty much for us. Once the university has changed some spaces, a new interesting site was opened in the middle of our faculty. This was a place where all the students of the faculty even other departments came to have some fun with others. As a result, a good attraction for all the people has been aroused in where most of the students cooperate with each other in solving problems and doing projects. I have made perfect memories of that place and it was beneficial for me both in my interest and knowledge.

Second, the goal of young people in attending university is not just extending their academic abilities to get a job. Indeed, most students, like me, have another attitude in going to university. We should try to get experiences in other parts of our character such as our social ability which is satisfied through communications. For instance, when my brother was at the age of 17 had a shy character before entering university, he was not even able to talk with his classmates. However, he completely changed after graduating from the business department of the China University. What happened to him is a good example of the effect of university meeting places. They had an especial place to discuss their courses which were located outside of their academic building. In fact, they lived four years at that place, talking with each other, presenting different lectures, watching football games and etc. Consequently, their social abilities were strongly strengthened via this place and all of them are now well educated and well experienced in communications that helped them in getting perfect positions in high-level companies.

In sum, it is obvious from my explanation that redesigning some spaces for students to have a meeting club is desirable to get more money from the university budget. This is just because of the students' attraction, the effectiveness of their courses, and also gaining social abilities. That's why we should pay more attention to the atmosphere of a university.