When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively that they are asked to work alone on projects.

Teaching methodology has changed a lot during last decades. One of the so-called "innovations" in that field is the method of group assignments, which, though, is being criticized by some people for its perceived drawbacks. However, personally, I am prone to believe that groupwork is highly beneficial in terms of learning any new material, as compared to studying alone. There are several reasons for that, which will be discussed in the following essay.

To begin with, studying in a group gives opportunity for sharing knowledge. Each person has his or her personal view on the matters he learns, while getting familiar with an alternative opinion regarding the learning material deepens your comprehension of the matter. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student I always tried to review materials that were hard for understanding with my classmates. So, studying in a team helps you to fully grasp the relevant issues.

Also, it is more fun to learn with friends, than to study alone all the day long. It is obviously boring to seat in the library lonely all the time, even though you are not a very communicative person. In contrast, working with pals is a source of joy and enjoyment. For instance, as a student, whenever I was in a bad mood, I was always trying to find someone to learn in a company, even when the material was easy for comprehension. Consequently, the benefits of groupwork go beyond increasing the comprehension level; it has a positive impact on the overall learning productivity.

Finally, the relevant scientific studies also indicate the inefficiency of studying alone. Thus, the research conducted by Ivy League universities proves that working as a team is more effective than the other option on several grounds. For example, according to the mentioned research the learning productivity is higher by 15 per cent in groupwork compared to studying alone.

To sum up briefly, studying in a group has several advantages. In particular, it helps you to understand the material better, and generally improves the level of learning efficiency.