Which one can make friendship stronger?

• Having a good time with your friend (Enjoy good time)

• Solving your problem with him or her (talk about problem)

• Supporting each other

Friendship is a heated topic all the time, leading to a wide range of discussions all over the world. There is one statement particularly interest me: The most effective way to build a stronger friendship is to spend as much good time together as possible. However, I hold a different view that talking about problems and having one’s back is of greater importance in terms of a solid friendship for the following reasons.

First and foremost, venting one’s emotions and problems can facilitate friend’s knowing of each other since they communicate by heart. As is known to all, a friendship is especially strengthened when people open their heart. That is, to talk about the problem they are confronting, which enables them to reach the softest part of the other without any barricade. For instance, my roommate who was always an optimistic girl with a big smile on her face one day teared alone under a tree. I said I had her back and she told me she was just frustrated by her math grades. I wiped her tears then shared my method in learning math. Even though that method did not help her, she was grateful for me and I felt our friendship strengthened after that conversation about her problem.

Another point worth mentioning is that mutual trust is a deciding factor to solidify a friendship, which can be cultivated by talking about problem as well as supporting. To state it more clearly, mutual trust is the foundation of not only a strong friendship, but also a solid relationship in any form. Where there is deep friendship, there is real trust between them. It is not hard to imagine how disappointed you will be if your friend tells you nothing about her problem, such as her having financial difficulty as her parents lost their jobs and she did not have the courage to tell her teacher. Nevertheless, provided that she tells you that, you can support her by encouraging her to tell the truth since she can get financial support from local government, through which your friendship can be deepened as well.

Admittedly, having good time together can leave beautiful memory since people tend to clearly remember something happy. Nonetheless, as the famous proverb put it, “A friend in need is a friend indeed,” mutual understanding and supporting raised from problem-sharing is the essence of every long-lasting friendship. Therefore, one is well-advised to talk about his problems with his friends, since it makes their hearts closer.