Which one of the following options is a better choice to help you gain confidence when speaking in the classroom, the community, and the workplace? Why?

• Practicing your speech before the presentation

• Using techniques and methods

• Learning from others' experiences

Speaking in front of people is one of the most common phobias out there. Although the speaker may have low self-confidence or be anxious, there are several ways to solve this problem and earn to have a good impression on the audience. Some people believe using methods and techniques will be effective, the others believe learning from others’ experiences will be useful. In contrast with these two options, I think that practicing the speech before the presentation is the most effective way and in the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons.

First of all, reviewing before speech let the speaker schedule the time perfectly and know what to do exactly. This practicing designs a clear structure. At least, the speaker can take a few notes about a captivating introduction, the significance of the topic and details about it and a great conclusion. For instance, I am an architecture lecturer. I teach freshman students how to become familiar with the basic elements of design in architecture. After several years of experience, every time before the class starts I review my notes that I took the night before. At the first impression, as I know when and how to speak, this will show them that I am the boss of speech material. Their facial reaction helps me to feel more confident and comfortable with my lecture. This example clearly shows that being prepared is one of the greatest way to gain confident for a speech in front of people.

Another reason that I can highlight about this fact is that being prepared let the speaker be well-spoken. This means speaking clearly and ensuring how to express the words. A great way to achieve fluency in speech is to practice reading out loud before speaking. Sometimes practicing in front of a mirror and listen to the way words said is a good idea. Once the speaker become more confident he can practice reading aloud in front of his friend or family member; the speaker can even graduate to a more difficult text the more comfortable he becomes. The more he practices the more confident he will feel. For instance, once I read an article about the tips of how to have better foreign-speaking. It mentioned that record yourself while practicing. The key is to listen carefully to the playback and see where you can improve. Listen to the way you pronounce words and how your voice sounds. You can then compare it to how the news anchor sounds. As a result, you can speak more fluently which leads to gain more confidence to speak in a foreign language. This example indicates that practice and practice is always effective.

To sum up, because of the perfect time schedule and control over speech resulted from preparation and also improvement of speaking fluency, practicing the speech before the presentation is the best way to enhance confidence for a speech-maker. I think before every speech people should review and practice.