At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity -for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to work alone or with others? Why?

Generally, creativity plays an essential role in making us equipped with the best solutions in difficult situations. Hence, human beings have always been involved in a great struggle to find the most efficient way to flourish creativity. In this regard, some people believe that working in a group helps people be more productive, others believe working alone is better. I, personally, subscribe to the former one for a couple of reasons which I will discuss hereunder.

First and foremost, teamwork provides people various ideas. It is crystal clear that creativity has a direct connection with obtaining new ideas. In a team work more people are involved in the problem solving process. Hence, the members will achieve more potential solutions, since everybody has a particular way of thinking and looks at the problem from a different perspective. In addition, a group work provides an excellent opportunity for members to exchange ideas and complement each other to reach the best solution. Working alone, in contrary, does not include these merits.

Secondly, in a team work the level of stress decreases drastically, since the members support each other in order to achieve the best outcome. Relieving stress help the members enjoy the tension-free atmosphere, and work on the problem with more concentration. Furthermore, one can prevent probable unintentional mistakes when working with a group. The person who is working in solitude might decide based on wrong information, and confront serious consequences. On the other hand, working in a group provides the opportunity that members can correct each other.

In summary, with all this taken into account it can be concluded that working in a group help people enhance creativity, for not only it paves the way for getting familiar with diverse points of view, but also brings about a tranquil atmosphere which leads to a better concentration on the problem.