working in a group or working a lone.

without a doubt, people are living longer these days than ever before. While there are many explanations for this phenomenon, I believe that the two most important are advances in science and the fact that people today enjoy manageable working lives. I will explore why I feel this way in the following essay.

First of all, developments in science and technology have done a lot to extend our natural lives. Newly discovered pharmaceuticals and medical devices assist doctors in a wide range of ways. they help in the prevention of illness, in the diagnosis of disease, during treatment and even in the provision of follow-up care. For example, several years ago I was diagnosed with skin cancer. Fortunately, my cancer was discovered at a very early stage of the disease and my treatment was provided very quickly and without any unexpected side-effects. my diagnosis was completed very quickly in a modern lab at a high-tech hospital near my home. As a result of this, I made a rapid and complete recovery. In contrast, several decades ago my grandfather passed away as a result of prostate cancer. he was eventually diagnosed with cancer, but it did not occur quickly enough to save his life. this was because there was simply no technology available to make the diagnosis. Last month, however, I read that because of recent scientific advances his form of cancer now has a ninety-percent survival rate.

Secondly, people today have much more manageable working lives than people in the past experienced. Workers today enjoy both long vacation periods every year and fewer hours at work each day so they have much less stress which can damage their health. I, for example, work just thirty-five hours each week and am given five weeks of time off each year by my employer. my example is not an outlier, as most of my friends and colleagues have a similar benefit package as I do. these perks help me to live a stress-free life and maintain a healthy body. my uncle, who is much older than I, worked more than forty-five hours each week during his career. Moreover, he enjoyed just a one week holiday each winter. His work was physically demanding and he developed a lot of health problems as he aged. The toll his work took on his body was a major cause of his early death, in my opinion. The comparison of myself and my uncle demonstrate how today’s working lives contribute to longer life spans.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are two main reasons why people today live longer than earlier generations. Those reasons are advances in science and technology, and gentler working conditions.