Your city or province has received a large donation of money to improve the education of children. It must choose between spending the money on the improvement of early childhood education (for children ages 4 to 7) and spending money on the improvement of education for older children (ages 11 to 14). Which do you think is the better option? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

If my city recived a large donation of money to improve the education of children, I think that it should spend the money on improvement of education for older children (ages 11 to 14). I base this opinion on several reasons. Some of them are logical, some of them are drawn from my own experiance, and some of them are purely scientifical.

Althogh young children (ages 4 to 7) learn new things the fastest, teenagers learn them more effective. Reason for this is development of prefrontal cortex in the brain at this age. Not only that teenagers learn different things in this life period, they also make conections between them and link them in some sort of a network. They than make theirown decisions and conclusions based on what they learnd in school and outside of it. But, prefrontal cortex isn’t the only part of the brain that reaches its maximum stage of development in this age. Other centers in the brain that we usualy link with making decisions in life do too. Based on this we can deduct that better education in this period of life is crucial for developmental of critical thinking, assement of danger, seeing difference between wrong and right and so on.

Next, teenagers also need better education so that they can make good decisions abot their later education. This is exactly the period when kids make their preferences towards certain subjects in school. This influence emancely later decisions in life regarding field of study in college and later job opportunities. I think that we should provide kids with best possible education in every single subject so that they can make later decisions regarding their future based purely on their preferences and not on the fear of not knowing enough.

In a conclusion, I think that investment in the education of children at any age is a good thing. For the reasons listed and discussed in this essay, I would argue that we should spend money on improving education for teenagers, but spending money on education at any level can’t be a bad thing.