In your opinion, which modern invention or scientific discovery has affected society the most?

In modern world various inventions have brought revolution to our society. However, according to me, invention of internet has affected society the most. As we say, “coin has two sides.” Same way internet also has both good and bad effects on us. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, internet has brought lot of comfort to our lives. We can use internet through various mediums such as computer, tablet, mobile phone and many more. With the help of internet people can save their time and money. For example, if I want to book tickets for any concert then, without travelling, I can book it from home through internet. Additionally, people have online banking option which is most convenient. They do not have to run to the ATM or bank to withdraw money. Once, I went to supermarket without carrying purse with me. I did not have any cash in my pocket. At that time, I used online cash pay option from my mobile phone to purchase grocery items.

Further, internet is also valuable for students for their education. With help of internet, students can excess numerus material for their study. For example, there are various sites and online library on which they can access books and papers for their study. More specifically, when I was preparing for my TOEFL exam, I used online library books and exams. Not only that, internet also provide convenience for travel. We can book our flights and hotels online in which we would like to stay. On top of that, Google map is the most commonly used application to find out location of attractions.

Besides that, internet is also helpful in businesses. Online shopping is a new trend in today’s generation. Amazon is the most famous known for online shopping. On Amazon people can buy and sell their products. Apart from that, using internet, people can make their own website site to sell their products. Person who buy product from online, they can also provide their review about product. This information can be help to other people who would like to buy such product.

However, internet also has few demerits. Today’s generation has become addicted to the internet. Internet distracts people from their work and education. For example, one of my friend is always busy on social networking site and because of that he got lower grades in his study. Not only that, even children are attracted to internet. They like to play online games and watch movies, which make them inactive and introvert.

Let’s put in nut shell, internet brings excess to information even in developing countries of world like India, China, etc. According to me, internet has abundant merits compare to its demerits. Based on the reasoning above, I strongly believe that internet is the invention which has widely affected the society.