combat sports such as boxing are popular Some people believe that combat sports encourage violence while others believe they promote self-discipline and restraints

Choose which side you most agree with and discuss why you choose that position. Support your point of view with details from own experiences, observations or reading.

Combat sports have always been a popular hobby for many people, whether viewership or participation. Some people believe that combat sports encourage violence while others argue they promote self-discipline and restraints. I am inclined to believe that combat sports help and promote self-discipline and restraints with a lot of other benefits. This essay will analyse and discuss the few benefits of combat sports and how it decreases violent behaviour.

Firstly, Combat sports teach people to protect themselves from violent people but not be violent with themselves. There is a significant difference between committing as an act of violence and protecting oneself from someone who is being violent. For example: Judo is a type of Karate that focus on self-defence and parents should teach especially girls to protect themselves in difficult circumstance. To summon, self-defence is core teaching of many combat sports.

Secondly, in addition to self-defence, it has so many other learning like children learn self-control, self-learning, self- discipline to achieve their goals. It helps oneself to keep mentally and physically fit as it’s great exercise too. It also teaches that anger is waste of energy and oneself should channelized their energy and utilize in something productive. For instance: Boxing coaches always tell the boxers that being angary is waste of energy and the focus should be on maintaining a cool head.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that combat sports decrease violence by focusing on self-defence and self-discipline. In my opinion, combat sports do not encourage violence but help to substantially decrease it.