The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

The only ways which people acquire information about the world are through social media, TV, radio and/or newspaper. Even though some people believe that they are not affected by those media, others think that they do play an intrinsic role. In my opinion, I tend to agree with whose people who believe that they are influenced by media.

First of all, what it is shown on TV is a true fact. It makes individuals behave accordingly. For example, in 2005 the tornado Catrina razed some location in the south of Brazil and people living nearby were advised by U.S. authorities to leave the area. Unfortunately, some died and others suffered some injuries. Therefore, people needed to believe that what was impending would certainly devastate the area.

Moreover, when it is the election time, everyone leans on the candidates' promises. They are influenced by candidates' speech so that they vote for such candidate. They lay upon their beliefs that what their candidates are proposing is true. For example, according to the New York Times the last election year in the U.S. people were persuaded by Facebook to vote for Donald Trump to win the election and this was alike in Brazil last year. Thus, when someone reads newspapers or any social media,, they tend to become persuasive.

Finally, people are easily persuaded by media because they do not look forward to seeing what can be true or can be false. They sometimes lack in knowledge to be capable to identify the truthiness and falseness of the facts.