The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

The only way which people acquire information about the world is through social media, TV, radio and/or newspapers. Even though some people believe that they are not affected by those media, others think that they do play an intrinsic role. In my opinion, I tend to agree with those people who believe that they are influenced by mass media.

First of all, what is shown on TV is a true fact. It makes individuals behave accordingly. For example, in 2005, the tornado Catrina razed some location in the south of Brazil and people living nearby were advised by U.S. authorities to leave the area. Unfortunately, some died and others suffered some injuries. Therefore, people had to belief that the tornado will be devastating.

Moreover, when it is the election time, everyone leans on the candidates' promises. They are influenced by candidates' speeches so that they vote for them. They lay upon their beliefs that their candidates are proposing the truth. For example, according to the New York Times, during the last U.S. election, people were persuaded by Facebook to vote for Donald Trump, similarly to what had happened in Brazil last year. Thus, when someone reads newspapers or any social media, they tend to become persuaded.

Finally, people are easily persuaded by media because they do not critically reflect on what they read, see or hear. They sometimes lack knowledge to validate the information.