Nowadays age discrimination in any company has become a common trend. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

These days, there is a controversial debate between people about age discrimination. While it is possible to claim that age discrimination in workplace is ubiquitous, my view is that age discrimination should be avoided at all cost. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why age discrimination is bad for workplace. One of them is that discrimination is against the human right. In addition, most of the discrimination happens with elder workers who serviced long period in the company. It should also be taken into account that experience from older workers are invaluable asset for the company and company management team should consider carefully to make use of their experience.

Those who supported age discrimination have a different view and say it will actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that the physical performance of elder workers cannot compare to the young workers. Then, there are concerns about promotion for newcomers that is often influenced by the existing elder workers.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that a common trend of work place discrimination is a negative development of our society. I would strongly suggest that governments should take action all workplace discrimination by law.