Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Recently a phenomenon of in taking drug has sparked an ongoing controversy which inevitably leads to a moot question, whose responsibility it is to avoid smoking? where it is held view that government has a major role however many hold its opposite view that it is a person's choice. In this essay I will discuss both the topics with related examples.

From the social standpoint, tobacco is the most harmful drug that has offer a noticeable effect in the society which are rooted in the fact that its addiction among human being are inextricably bound up. According to my experience when I was a university student I performed an experiment which discovered that strong legislative regulations such as introducing fine, restrictions on importing or producing cigarettes, introducing smoke free public space, creating smoking room and many more can constrain people to stop or reducing the exposure of smoke in the atmosphere. Hence, beneficial ramification of government rules as an effective solution can be seen.

Within the realm of society, an individual has a enormous impact in a major scale. Moreover fundamental aspect of smoking in a area where younger generation inspires is technically harmful for the growing ones as well as the non smokers. As a tangible example, a scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that person can never help to prevent themselves from addictions, unless or until a strict rules applies. Thus, it is correct to presume the notion of tobacco a harmful drug to be avoided by government.

To conclude, I profoundly believe that the benefits of rules obliged by government organization far compliments safer environment. Not only create better and healthier nation but also providing with strict acceptance.