Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity. Do government have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Nowadays, cigarette is consuming a lot and resulting mortality rate increasing in this world. Reasons either chronic diseases which engulfed in our societies or awareness related to these causes. Some people believe that governments have regulation to control it's consumption and protect citizens whereas other people argue that it mainly should be controlled by individuals. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and explore the logical conclusion.

To start with, every single citizen possesses right of consumption of cigarettes but in boundaries of prescribed drugs. There are multifarious reasons why governments come forward to save citizens. One of them is economic and healthy factor of country itself. For instance if citizens are not healthy and engulf with many diseases then how nation can grow. In addition, governments want their citizens in top list in any competitions. By banning cigarettes government can grow.

On contrary, people argue that protecting citizens from smoking is only responsibility of individual are correct on their notion. They believe that individual understands about their financial position and nurture their family. People argue that growth of individual is growth of nation. This will cure and decrease the mortality rate. Cigarettes are most lethal drugs which show bad effects only.

In conclusion, this essay discussed both views for this argument. In my personal opinion, Both are responsible to ban this venomous drug. Governments and individuals are responsible to accept the bad influences of smoking which is manufactured with lethal drugs.