The violence portrayed on T.V and in the movies leads to an increase in crime in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

The discussion on whether the increase in crime can be related to the virtual violence is a debatable topic and people all around the globe are divided in their opinions. The subject attracts the majority of views from people and remains a hot topic among people of concern. In this essay, I shall scrutinize both sides of views by providing examples and explanation before drawing my conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one lies in the fact that the media sets the tone for our cultural norms. In order to get an authentic explanation, there is an uprising trend of reports of violence on television, which have a tremendous effect on younger’s behaviour. The most impeccable example that I could quote here is that a research conducted by Harvard University suggests that virtual violence can lead to a violent behaviour. Hence, I can substantiate my idea that violence portrayed on TV can increase crime in our society.

Those who disagree these ideas might have a cogent notion and could assert that the content on the TV cannot affect our behaviour. Another angle on this debate suggests that mainstream media could never lead to indulge harmful activities. The most pertinent example that could be provided here is that a research studied 20 adults who watched violent TV shows for a week and none of them changed their behaviour.

To conclude, after taking the above-stated points into consideration, I am inclined to believe that the effect the content on television has on our behaviour is prominent and should not be overlooked.