21. The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores. "Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced Its overall Inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

The author thinks that because of declining profit, they must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten movie rental stores. And he also compared the chain of stores with a store located in downtown Marston.But the conclusion made from these assumptions has raised making different questions due to which the conclusion can’t be accepted.

The author tells about implementing new policies for increasing profits. He has also mentioned that there are very few complaints regarding new policies. But here is applying these new policies to all the stores. But every store has a different kind of people living in that area. For example most of the people living in the Downtown area are in the age group of 19-25 while in the other area the age group might differ so how can be apply these new policies to all the stores. So instead of applying these new policies to all the stores he should look personally to every store bring new changes according to requirement of that particular store.

The author tells about reduction of overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than 5 years ago. Suppose most of the people living in a particular area belong to the age group of 40-50 so these people might be fans of old 90s movies so reducing the overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than 5 years ago will be a bad choice.

Also the author mentions about receiving very few complaints regarding new policies. But rather than looking to the complaints the author should look at the profits of the shop. Whether, the profit at the downtown shop has increased after implementing these new policies because profit is the only thing which matters in business. Also few complaints might be due reduction of the daily customers of the shop due to new policies. Also very few is a vague term therefore the author must see the exact number of complaints.

So instead of adopting these new policies the author should look deeply and personally into the management of every store and also make new policies according to requirement of people which will help them to increase profits. It can be done by conducting a survey or by any other means .