According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given recommendation that all schools should adopt the concept of honor code, like Groveton college, in order to see similar results- slump in number of students involved in cheating-is based on an argument which is rife with many unanswered questions. These questions need to be answered for the argument to be proved legit and recommendation to hold veracious. Further elaboration of the questions is delineated in body paragraphs.

First of all, the author brings out the fact that number of cheating reported has reduced over five years with honor code in place. However, he has failed to convince that the decrease in reports of cheating is due to slump in number of students involved in cheating. There can be multiple possible scenarios, like students failing to report all the cheating because they might be busy with their paper. Or, more students are now involved in cheating and they decide to bribe or threaten the students who report their cheating. Thus, in order to prove his position, the author needs to answer the questions: Is there any pertinent source that confirms that decrease in cheating report is attributed by fall in number of students involved in cheating? Whether or not the source is biased? How reliable is the source?

Furthermore, questions like- Is the recent survey, talked about in the argument, representative of all kinds of students-students who cheat and who don’t? Are their opinions reliable? -need to be answered. If not answered, following scenarios could be possible: students might not be speaking the truth or they might all be involved in cheating and are conspiring to make this statement in order to push back the attention. We don’t know that. Even though, say, students are telling the truth, there is no mention that the students, who took the survey, were the students indulged in cheating before and with honor code in place, they are likely to quit. Possible alternatives can be survey was taken only by students who didn’t cheat before anyway and they might be giving a biased opinion.

Based on the implication of previous assumptions, the argument makes a generalization that all other colleges and universities should adopt honor code in order to reduce cheating among students. Even though say, the aforementioned questions in previous paragraphs are answered, such generalization is still unclear. This is because it totally depends on students to make such a change success. Maybe, the students of Groveton college were obedient to follow such code. But, do we know that students of other colleges too have such sincerity? What is the guarantee that student will agree to follow such code? And what is the proof that they won’t take advantage of the situation-teacher not monitoring closely- and cheat more? These questions need to be answered for making such a general statement.

In summary, the argument is clearly rife with a lot of unanswered questions. These need to be answered in order to support the position of the argument and prove the recommendation reasonable.