According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumption. it perhaps assume cogent, at first glimpse, to concur with the argument in article that colleges and universities should adopt honor code of Groveton's to reduce the cheating among students. However, in order to fully figure out this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The dispute could end up being much powerless then it looks or it perhaps be quite authenticate. In order to make that conviction, we need more than analyze what we learn.

first argument assume that honor code is responsible to reduce the cheating system. Even so it is unwarranted because only honor code maybe or may not be effective reason in another schools. we should think about other few reasons also since if one idea may not work then we can use another one to reduce the cheating.

another piece of evidence that would weaken the argument could come from the interview. we should take an interview to those student whom did cheat past exam but do not cheat now adays. we ask about why are you do not cheat? why you stop? what you feel about honor code? did honor code change your thinking about cheating? the clue can from the answers of those questions.

one more important piece of evidence that might undermine argument is - making time article. argument never addresses about the teacher quality of teaching. good teaching can play a vital role to reduce the cheating. if student can learn effectily then, students knows about answer of the question also. if they have own knowlwdge about answer then they do not need to cheat. they can write answer ownself. argument never addressed about the difficulty level of questions paper also. If question paper is hard then student can try the cheating, if question is easy in exam they student not need to cheat. clue can from the dificulty level of question paper also.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. Clearly, then we need to have an additional evidences in order to get a more complete and concrete understanding of the strength and weakness of article.

Ultimately, the argument might have been buttressed by survey, interview, to change the study design, think about time frame and research about the view of students.