An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the

third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The argument that the scent of lavender flowers is now effective makes numerous unwarranted assumptions regarding the amount of volunteers employed, how strenuous this volunteers quotidian activities are and what led the volunteers to sleep soundly in the third week. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption thirty volunteers are enough to determine the effectiveness of the scent of lavender flowers. Thirty volunteers are not enough to determine the effective of a substance. More volunteers are needed from different regions, more adults, more children, more men and more women with chronic insomnia are needed to test whether the scent of lavender flowers is effective to cure insomnia. Therefore, the author need to provide more volunteers to determining how effective the lavender flowers are in curing insomnia. Assuming this volunteers are up to a hundred people, consisting of different ages and genders and they all prove to be healed by the scent of lavender flowers, then argument will be strengthened. But with this little amount of volunteers, the argument seems weak.

The second leap in the argument its failure to consider what the volunteer’s diurnal activities. The author failed to take into consideration, how strenuous the volunteer’s daily activities are which might have led to them sleeping soundly or not to sleep soundly during the period of observation. It is seen from the argument that the volunteers took their medications in the first week and woke up tired. They stopped the medication in the second weak and still woke up tired. This clearly shows that the volunteers are engaged in some other activities that is obstructing the effectiveness of the medication being seen. Thus, the author needs to evaluate what the volunteers do in the day to consider the validity of the argument. If it is seen that the volunteers engage in arduous task during the day which is contributing to them waking up tired, then the argument will be strengthened.

Finally, the argument failed to state other factors that led to the volunteers sleeping soundly in the third week. Were the volunteers’ medication changed? Were the volunteers daily activities changed? Were their pillows replaced with pillows that are made up of more lavender flower or less lavender flowers? Something must have changed in the third week which the author failed to mention. Ergo, in order to strengthen the argument, one needs to evaluate what changed in the third week of observation. If it is seen that more of the lavender pillows made the volunteers sleep longer and soundly in the third week, then, one can assume the scent of lavender flowers is effective but if it is seen that some other factors are changed, such as reducing the work hour of the volunteers, changing their daily diet and medication among many others, then argument that lavender flowers are effective will seem weak.

In conclusion, the argument that lavender flowers’ scent are now proven to cure insomnia within a short period of time makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously debilitate its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, the author might be making a major mistake by assuming that lavender flowers are now effective.