Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

This paper is describing assumptions of deer hunters in arctic about their reduction in population-based on their assumption with various reasons explained in the statement. The main reason is cited as deer are unable to follow their age-old migration pattern, the ice covering the sea which separates the island, and their habitat in the warm area due to paucity of vegetation. However, these statements are weak to bolster the extrapolation and dearth of evidence which doesn't make an assumption right.

Firstly, arctic deer are habitable to live in the snowy places so they are well familiar with the environment on arctic as well as they are used to forage. Moreover, the author is not stating that if deer are carnivorous or herbivorous or maybe they have acclimatized themselves to hinge on seafood as there is paucity vegetation. Deer might travel to the mainland when ice covers sea for forage and thus latter they might unable to return as snow getting melt. For example, migratory birds are losing their paths because of drastic deforestation and change in soil types of land.

Secondly, there is a lack of statistical data and evidence in the report as the number of deer or their depletion rate is not given hence it is impossible to render the assumption. Because of global warming sea ice is surely melting and there are a lot of topographic changes are happening globally but that does not directly affect the habitat of deer as they are in their microclimate. It is similar to heavy rainfall affecting the caterpillar in its cocoon.

In addition to it, depletion of deer is maybe because of the forage of carnivorous animals in and around like polar bears or any other animal. The depletion rate of the year of the report might be highest compare to other years as there is no such data is given.

In totality, it is unfair to prejudice the depletion rate of deer because of just global warming and forage problems there might be myriads reasons behind it. It will clear only after the relevant evidence, proofs, and statistical data to cite the position on the above assumption.