Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Argument states that, arctic deer residing in Canada’s arctic regions travel on frozen ice to search for food. Local hunters reports that population of deers is decreasing. Argument concludes that decline in population is due to global warming. Deers are not able to move around for food due to melted ice. There is numerous assumptions in this argument, which can weaken the argument’s strength if proved false. Argument assumed that deers are dying because they are not able to move around due to melted ice. There is no information about hunter’s report covers which part of the arctic regions. Is hunters report coincide with Canada’s arctic region particularly or any other sea.

First assumption is that, deers are unable to move around island to island because ice is melted due to global warming. But there is no data provided in the argument about how deers are dying? According to argument there is no research report showing that they couldn’t make island to island for food and died due to starvation. There could be a possibility that ice was frozen but some of the deers were too old or too weak to travel on ice and they couldn’t make it. Another possibility is that deers were killed during hunting and not died by natural regions which caused lessening the number of deers.

Second assumption is that, hunter’s report covers all the regions of arctic. There is possibility that report covers only areas which hunter’s used for hunting only or this report prepared only by one hunter who went for hunting in some part of arctic region and couldn’t find enough deers for hunting or the area which he chose for hunting was not suitable to deers in that course of year. Argument is lacking in information about hunter’s report, how generalized this report is? Which are arctic regions it covers? Is this report only about deers or about includes other animals also?

Third assumption is that global warming report with which hunter’s report is coinciding with is about arctic regions. There is no information in the argument is that global warming report is about which region, only arctic regions where deers live or all the arctic regions or about all the seas. Argument doesn’t provide any information that global warming report belongs to which course of the year. Is it the same course when deer need to move around for food or any other course of the year. To compare two reports, it is necessary that these report must cover same regions where deers live and same course of the year when deers need to travel.

Thus, in this argument weaknesses are rife. It depends on assumptions which are not supported by enough data and research. Author should collect more information about reasons of population decline of deers and conduct surveys with hunter to gather information about deers population in arctic regions. These data might help to reach to the conclusion why deers population is decreasing.