Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument about the cause of decline in the deer population is due to the global warming seems unjustful. The argument lacks proper evidences to coroborrate the satement of positions what the author has stated. There is no inter relation between the facts stated in the former part of the argument to the later one. Several assumptions are made which lacks proper proofs which makes unconvincing. Without having clear records, the conclusions are made. This makes the argument weak and difficult to accept.

First of all the argument claims that the local reporters have claimed that there is a decline in the deer population. The argument is not supplying the proper statistics on the number of deer that are present in that locale and a comparison survey that evinces that there is a depletion in the deer population. Without these facts, co-relating this report as the co-incidence with the global warming looks inept.

Secondly, the argument is stating that there is a global warming, which is accepted and due to this the ice sheets are melting. But the argument do not accurately state that the ice sheets are melting in the Arctic regions, which is hindering the itenerancy of the deer. Even though the ice glaciers are melting away, it may need not be same at all the places. Hence this fact neither be considered as potential cause for the deer population depletion.

Further, the argument states that decline in the deer population has resulted in the unfollow of their age-old migration across the frozen sea. Without proper evidence on this fact it becomes unlikely to accept that there is a decline in the deer population. It may be likely that since certain years, the temperatures are unstable, the necessary plants which the deer use to ingest have not grown and due to this the deer have died lacking proper nutrition. Since no proper evidence is provided the statement of conclusion cannot be accepted.

Thus, there are several key factors that are missing, makes the argument unconvincing. Still deeper study and surveys has to be made before stating the conclusion. In total the argument is full of loop holes and cannot be accepted.