Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that the reason for the decrease in deer populations is the result of the deer being unable to stick to their age-old migration patterns across the frozen areas.This conclusion seems to be weak as there are many unanswered questions and assumptions that are taken on the basis of a report whose integrity is questionable.

Firstly,the argument states that their habitat is limited to warm area where there are plants on which they feed and cold enough for some part of the year where they could move across the frozen sea.But on what basis can we be assured that for how much part of the year the deer leaves their warm habitat and move to the cold one.It might be possible that deer doe not leave their warm habitat throughout their lifetime because in warm areas they are able to satiate their need for food by feeding on the plants available there.

Secondly,the argument relies on the reports obtained from local hunters who state that deer population are declining.But what was the sample size of the report that was taken into consideration.How many local hunters opinion was included in the report?And if the sample size was large there is still a possibility that some faction of deer's population might have migrated to some other place where the hunters might not have been able to search for,so the integrity of the report mentioned in the argument is contentious and might not provide a basis for any conclusion.

Thirdly,it is stated in the argument that as the reports provided by local hunters coincide with recent trends of global warming deer are dying because they fail to follow their age old tradition of migrating across the frozen sea which has started melting due to the effects of global warming.But there is a possibility that due to some reasons the plants on which the deer are dependent have been decreased and so unable to find food,deer's population has declined.Also there is a possibility that the reproduction rate of the deer might have reduced and it becomes a crucial factor that has to be considered while considering a decline in population.

To sum up the argument's conclusion which is based on a questionable report becomes quite weak due to the above mentioned unanswered questions.If the report's integrity is proved somehow and if the report includes all the assumptions taken in the argument then only the argument's conclusion becomes indefensible.