The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article concludes that a business prospers only when it hires people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This conclusion is indefensible as it stands on vague assumption taken by the author from a study whose integrity is questionable due to various parameters of the study.

Firstly, the study is done on a mere 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives. The sample size is too less to validate the study or making any inference from it is difficult. Also considering this small sample size where the male and female executives are rated to the average number of hours they sleep per night and associated it to the success of the firm is worthless. What if the executives whose amount of sleep data is being collected are interested in late night party and to maintain the time discipline of their firm they had to wake up early? In such a scenario their amount of sleep is less and it can not be related to the success of the firm.

Secondly, it is stated in the argument that the firms whose executives did not need more than 6 hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. But there might be a possibility that the advertising firms which showed increase in profits were more popular and due to their popularity among clients they were able to perform better than other advertising firms. Also they might have a strong executive connection in the market due to which they were able to perform better and gain a high profit margins.

Thirdly, there is a possibility that the firms where executives had not more than 6 hours of sleep, the executives had a job from morning till late night and the firm made them do overtime just to increase their profit margins. So due to this reason they might not get to sleep more than 6 hours. Contrary to this there is a possibility that the firm had very less working hours, but their executives were far more prolific than other firms' executives. So due to their productivity rate to complete their work faster might also be the reason for the firms' success and so it can not be associated with the amount of sleep of the executives.

To conclude, there are some questions which are unanswered and some vague parameters present in the study which makes it worthless. So the conclusion made from such a futile study by the author of the article completely fails as no convincing reasoning is given.