Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument concludes that if the skateboarding is prohibited in Central plaza ,the business in Central Plaza would return to its previously high levels.But there are many questions unanswered here as well as many assumptions are wrongly taken due to which this recommendation might not get be able to achieve its predicted result.

Firstly,the argument states that the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing over the past two years while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically.What was the scenario before two years?How can just the data of two years be compared with previous years?there might be a possibility that there were less inhabitants near central Plaza during previous years and now that the inhabitants have increased that much percentage of people shopping in Central Plaza could not be seen because eventually the number of shoppers might be same or it might have increased.But due to increase in population in the area surrounding central Plaza,the number of shoppers percentage wise might have decreased but in quantity might have increased or it could be vice versa(number of inhabitants surrounding the area might have decreased and so the number of shoppers might have decreased).

Secondly the shop owners believe that due to increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza their business has gradually decreased.But how can increase in number of skateboard users in plaza really affect their business?Increase in skateboard users indicate that people do come to their plaza but they might not be interested in shopping from their shops because their quality of product might have deteriorated or they might not have upgraded their stock according to the need of the customers.Skateboarding can very well be fruitful for their business because people who come with their children can shop without any concern by keeping their children occupied in skateboarding.Also if the plaza has more than one floors which are wide and people might feel tired by walking they can use skateboards if they know skateboarding and can reach their shops with great comfort.So this reason given by the shop owners can not get their recommendation to pass.

Finally,how can they assume that the increase in littering and vandalism caused throughout the plaza is done by skateboarders in the plaza?there might be some outside factor like a faction protesting on streets or a union strike that might well have caused the vandalism.And for the littering their own employees might have littered in the plaza or the person who cleans their plaza might not be doing his/her duty seriously.So these reasons provided by the owners in order to support their argument to prohibit the skateboarders might need some more proof and evidences against the skateboarders.

To conclude the shop owners recommendation to prohibit skateboarding in their plaza might need backup from some strong evidences and statistical data which can make their case stronger.Otherwise their prediction to restore the sales to previous levels might fail and their presumption against the skateboarders fails due to the above mentioned reasons and they need to find some other reason to make their prediction work because their recommendation to prohibit skateboarding is weak due to varied reasons.