On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals

Although the commendation presented in the letter to an editor seems to be rational on the first glance, the limitation of rented mopeds up to 25 per day is riddled with some logical flaws.

At first, it is unclear how this measure to put limits on only rented vehicles can reduce the number of road accidents. The town council should investigate the question whether there are drivers of rented mopeds who are culprits. Perhaps, the result of the investigation will show that pedestrians are the main source of problems on roads. For example, they can cross roads in restricted areas where drivers can hardly see them traversing. Also, it might be hidden behind that people who have their own mopeds violate road rules more than those who rent vehicles. In this case, the measure to limit only rented mopeds will not solve the problem.

The letter provides some specific numbers which need to check. For example, it pays attentions that the promoted measure will reduce road accidents up to 50 percent as it happened on the other island. At first, it is not lucid why the reduction from 50 to 25 mopeds per day will lead to this result. Perhaps, the town council must put more severe measures and gives the permission to rent only 10 mopeds to achieve this. Moreover, since Balmer Island is planning to adapt Seaville’s measure to curtail the number of accidents, more information needs to be collected. For instance, how much the situation there correlates this one on Balmer Island, whether there were other measure to be taken which would lead to this 50% going down and others. Without answering these questions, it is irrational to limit the number of rented mopeds, because it might not work for this island.

This suggested measure should be applied within summer months, because the population increases to 100 000 during this time. This fact requires more attention, since now this number does not look like a strong argument to the recommendation. First, it is unclear how it corresponds with the density, because, for example, the territory of the land is great that this grow does not affect much the problem of road accidents. Maybe this step should be on the constant basis. Moreover, this increase can be more intensive during other seasons, thus, road accidents happen more often in winter or spring.

To sum up, based on the arguments I provided in this essay, the recommendation to restrict rented moped may not work well as it is supposed.