"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author concludes that to reduce number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council should limit number of mopeds rented by island’s moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during summer season because Seaville enforced similar limits on moped rentals last year and it attained 50% annual reduction in moped accidents. The author’s line of reasoning is that by limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50% annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year by neighboring island of Seaville when it had enforced similar limits on moped rentals. This argument is not convincing for various reasons.

First of all, the conclusion that limiting number of moped rentals will reduce number of accidents by 50% annually is based on the questionable assumption that mopeds are only available on rental basis in Balmer Island. However, it is entirely possible that mopeds are also available on sale and that mopeds on sale will increase when rentals have these limits and hence moped accidents won’t reduce significantly. Also, there isn't any proof justifying that enforcing these limits would reduce accidents by exactly 50%. Thus, author’s generalization is unreliable.

Secondly, the author assumes that reducing number of mopeds rented was the dominating reason for the 50% annual reduction in moped accidents in Seaville last year. It is possible that there were other dominating reasons for the reduction in no. of moped accidents last year in Seaville. If this was true, there wouldn't be any change in number of moped accidents in Balmer Island even if the limits on rentals are enforced.

Thirdly, even if this is true, the author assumes that most of the accidents happen only in summer. It is possible that majority of accidents might be happening in other seasons irrespective of the population present at that time. This can lead to the reduction in number of accidents being insignificant by enforcing the limits on moped rentals.

Finally, the author uses a Wrong Comparison flaw. It is a flaw where 2 things which differ in important respects are compared and treated as if they do not differ. The author assumes that what will work in Seaville will work in Balmer Island too. He neglects the fact that the conditions and reasons for accidents in Seaville and Balmer Island might be totally different. Hence, author’s argument is flawed.

In conclusion, to strengthen the argument, the author must provide enough evidence to support the assumption that reducing number of mopeds rented was the only dominating reason for reduction in number of moped accidents last year in Seaville. Moreover, proper supporting evidence has to be provided for the assumptions that mopeds can only be rented in Balmer island or the number of mopeds sold in sale won’t increase even if the said limits are enforced and that the effect that the limits had in Seaville will be same in Balmer Island. Only with more convincing evidence will this argument become more than a wrong comparison flaw.