"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The argument relies on the data in another island where situations could be different from the island we are concerned about. It says that due to increase in population the number of moped accidents will increase but necessary evidence behind this conclusion is not provided. Also, there could be other more viable solutions to the problem that is stated in the argument which are not considered.

The author claims that due to increase in population of Balmer Island, the number of moped accidents will increase. The question is if this is actually the case. There is no evidence that the number of moped accidents actually increases during summer months due to increase in population. The author suggests that the town council should limit the number of mopeds rented by moped companies by half the number, so the number of moped accidents can be reduced. However, he doesn’t provide any proof that this approach will actually work. To reach a conclusion, he has to collect more information about the traffic system, road condition and other factors which might be relevant to the accidents.

Another important question we have to answer is that are mopeds solely responsible for the accidents? There is an underlying assumption in the argument that mopeds are mostly responsible for the increase in accidents, for which he didn’t provide any evidence. But there could be other reasons behind the increased accidents. Other vehicles might be responsible for this, which are not considered. May be people do not abide by the specific traffic laws and safety systems, which might lead to increased accidents due to increased population. The people driving the mopeds may not be well qualified to drive, which also accounts for the accidents.

The author bases his suggestion on the condition of the nearby island of Seaville. But the question is, are the two islands comparable? Are they similar? The author suggests that the Balmer Island town council should follow the measure taken by the Seaville Island. But the conditions in these two islands could be different. May be Seaville Island doesn’t have a population increase in the summer, which makes the situations different. We need to identify the similarities and differences between the two islands before recommending any possible solution.

There are some assumptions the author made for which he didn’t give any evidence. He also recommended an approach taken by the nearby island which may not be as effective for the particular island in question. There are many unanswered questions which make the conclusion open for challenge.