The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

The city council proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by changing incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The city council also claims that LED is brighter and cost no more purchases. However, the proposal contains some flaws and will not be accepted if it fails to answer some critical assumption; moreover, the conclusion dismisses some assumption which is important to draw an accurate conclusion.

The first problem with this argument is that the city council claim LED is cost no more purchases. The cost is the same as before means does not mean that the overall cost will be the same. Moreover, it is the main initial cost of this proposal and other costs like fixing the LED, the line cost and the labour cost which is also significant to predicting a cost before a proposal. But, this proposal has no information related to cost calculation.

The second flaw is that, the city council express that LED light burns brighter. But, if the light burns more than it could be consumed more electricity and therefore expense will increase. Another is, the maximum capacity of the electric line is not known, thus if LED burns more or take electricity higher then the line can be damaged.

The third issue is if the LED is not fit in the place of incandescent bulb then what will happen? Moreover, there is no enough information about the infrastructure of the building, setting of the switch and its overall capacity of a bulb. Therefore, if the infrastructure of the building is old then will the LED bulb would be suitable? If it is not suitable then the city council need to change the infrastructure which increases expense.

While the overall hypothesis is interesting but, by examining various facts it can conclude that the city council required to present more information to validate this proposal.