The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The arguement provided is concerned with two different shops who are thinking of opening one of their branch in Salem, on the basis of two different ideaologies. But none of them provided correct data to prove their point.

The data provided here for the growing population can not be jusitified and the median of the salary of the area is also not supported with any clear facts. The huge median of the salary provided here doesn't have a strong base to completely use it to conclude a point. Moving on to Namens demand of opening their store in the suburb because of the increase in teh median income, it gives the reader a sense of doubt that even if ther eis increase in the income of the family, it doesn't give any strong supporting statement that they will buy their cloths from a high end faishon retailer. They can be interested in their own custom made garments, that is way more cheaper and comfortable for many. And people living in sub urbs are not much concerned on investing on cloths but are more interested in livestock and lands. So being in a bubble of having greater sales in a suburb is harmful to the business.

Now the other competitor, Roscoe, believes that sub urbs are more family oriented and therefore their store will be more profitable. This statement can be true to some extent but clearly the arguement does not provide any clear statistics of the kind of people that are residing in the Salem area, we can not conclude anything.

Hence from the arguments provided, noe of the business can set up their shops in Salem, unitl they survey the are and accordingly select which one will go. But this is just a hypothetical situation in reality. Because nowadays who cooperat with its competitors, even when it will not benefit the business in any way.