The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the two executives both believe that their own corporation will be more successful than another's in expanding their businesses in the suburb of Salem. However, both their conclusions are entirely based on logically unconvincing assumptions. Without providing further evidence, the writer's statement itself is unpersuasive and unwarranted.

First of all, Namen's executives hold an idea that given that the population and median income of the suburb, the citizen will spend more money on clothing. However, from the statement, we can only know the population in the suburb of Salem has grown more than 50% in the last three years and the median income of it is $75,000. Actually, we can't be sure if the $75,000 income or the 50% increase of population is relatively high or low in this nation. Since we don't have comparisons between other suburbs, we cannot conclude whether people will buy luxury goods by observing these descriptive statistics.

Similarly, Roscoe's executives leap to the conclusion without giving adequate explanations. They believe the suburbs are more family oriented so people in there are willing to buy more clothes from their company than the Namen's. How can the Roscoe's concludes the people in the suburbs are more family oriented? Did they come up with the idea with a detailed self-made survey? Or did they consult with a research firm? Even if the suburb is indeed a family oriented place, will the people buy cheaper clothes instead? Or are the people tend to purchase luxurious clothing to make their family members feel respectful?

To sum up, those executives lack credibility to conclude that their corporation will be the winner in the expansion. And I believe the two company's executives should present more convincing evidence regarding the issues discussed above to support their conclusion.