The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The writer asserts the council should pass the ban to stop pedestrian texting or cell phone using when walking on sidewalks by providing several reasons. However, I disagree the petition since the rationales provided sound questionable to me. Here are my reasons:

Firstly, there's no evidences showing a correlation whether the more walkers using cell phones when walking, the more traffic accident happened afterwards. Despite people use cell phone may slow their walking pace, we can't conclude that's the reason of most car accidents happening in Centervile. The writer needs to at least present some effective data to show the cause and effect between the cell-phone usage and the car accident.

Also, we should examine the reasons of the increasing car accident happened over the past three years. Perhaps, Centerville has become an urban city so many immigrants have been coming to there since three years ago. And that grows the population larger, hence increases potential traffic accidents possibilities.

Last but not least, the writer provides a similar law enacting by Middletown, proved the sidewalk crime has decreased then, asserting Centervile may have the same result as Middletown. However, he commits a false analogy between two different cases, since we are unsure the demography, or car-owning rate of these two places, These uncertain information makes the result unpredictable.

To conclude, the author needs to present more details provided above to make the petition sound warranted.