Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The manager speculates the reason that the advertising contracts was canceled by the local businesses, is because of the decrease in the length of weather and local news. And he even suggests that by restoring the former length of weather and local news, his television station would attract more viewers. However, I disagree with the statement since the manager commits several fallacies and leaps to a unwarranted conclution.

Firstly, the writer fails to specify the reason why the advertising contracts was canceled. It can be actively terminated by local businesses with dissatisfaction about the station's changing policy, as the manager implicitly assumed. Nevertheless, the contracts itself can be expired due to the cooperation were just end or the local businesses were just limiting their budgets or simply bankrupted, maybe because of the economic recession among their country. We cannot sure the real reason of them to cancel the contracts, so it make the policy suggested by the manager questionable.

Also, the manager finds most of complaints received were about the weather and local news so believes more viewers would attracted if they devote more time on those news just as before. However, he doesn't specify what the complaints were all about. What if the complains were viewers' dissatisfaction regarding the bad quality of weather and local news? We do need more details of these complains so that we can discuss the policy further.

To sum up, I consider the conclusion in the memorandum is somewhat questionable, because the manager only tells us superficial phenomenon he observed. I believe he should make a thoroughgoing investigation in regards of the reasons of contracts canceling between local businesses and contents in the complaints.