Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In my opinion, I disagree with the statement which suggests that it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

To begin with, in a well-known corporation, if a leader is considered not moral enough by peers, they would not will to follow, let alone to respect, him or her, since it would damage their reputation in the future.

Secondly, a person with no moral judgment will easily commit crimes without a slight notice. What makes worse is that the leader without moral judgment, he or she would persuade peers to do tasks that he or she doesn't even notice it's unmoral, and make them easier to be sued or put into jail, which makes a leader without the moral trait not maintain respect from employees.

I concede, for few employees, they do respect a leader not because the his moral judgment but because his tactiveness or determination to make the corporation profitable. However, the company's success is likely to be temporary because after the peers get what they want from the unmoral judgment leader, to protect themselves, they will soon leave the company to choose other more moral employers to work for.

Therefore, I disagree with the statement that it is not as important as a leader's ability to support the respect of his or her peers for the reasons provided above.